Availity & Point of Care
Enroll / Update
your Practice or Facility.

Not registered? Sign up to enjoy secure access to personalized information accessible from Availity. Register today.

Current Users

Coverage & Clinical UM Guidelines, and Pre-Cert Requirements
View requirements for Local Plan and BlueCard Out-of-Area members.

Find a Doctor
Search our online provider directory when you need a doctor, hospital or other health care provider.

Provider Representatives - Chiropractors, Certified Nurse Midwives, Dental/Oral Surgeons (medical only), and Optometrists/Opticians (medical only)


Central Region (+ NC Contiguous Counties)
Name & Territories
Cynthia Beadle (804) 354-2426 / cynthia.beadle@anthem.com
Western Henrico County. 
Linda Boynton (804) 678-0404 / linda.boynton@anthem.com
Chesterfield County. 
Vanessa Lacey (804) 354-7812 / vanessa.lacey@anthem.com
Caroline, Fredericksburg, King George, Stafford and Spotsylvania. 
Adriene Ellis (804) 354-2721 / adriene.ellis@anthem.com
Hanover (except Mechanicsville), Richmond/Henrico – North of the James River (zip codes 23219, 23220, 23221, 23226, 23227,23228, 23230); Richmond – South of the James River (zip codes 23224, 23225); Eastern Henrico County (zip codes 23075, 23150, 23222, 23223, 23231, 23250). 
Kathy Nixon (804) 354-3996 / kathy.nixon@anthem.com
(non-UVA) Albemarle, Charlottesville Fluvanna, Goochland, Greene, Louisa, Madison, Nelson, Orange, and Mechanicsville. 
Tonya Goodson (804) 354-2565 / tonya.goodson@anthem.com
Amelia, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charles City, Charlotte, Colonial Heights, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Emporia, Greensville, Hopewell, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, New Kent, Nottoway, Petersburg, Powhatan, Prince Edward/Farmville, Prince George, South Hill, and Sussex. NC: Granville, Northampton, Vance, and Warren. 
Jackie Overton (804) 354-7813 / jackie.overton@anthem.com
VCUHS/MCV Associated Physicians and UVA Physicians Group – for Dentists/Oral Surgery (“medical”) and Optometrists/Opticians (“medical”). 
Back to top  

Eastern Region (+NC Contiguous Counties)
Name & Territories
South Hampton Roads
Allan Benfield (757) 597-9104 / allan.benfield@anthem.com
All CHIROPRACTORS (only) in South Hampton Roads + Peninsula. 
Julie McGarrh (757) 597-9101 / julie.mcgarrh@anthem.com
Essex, Gloucester, Hampton, James City County, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Newport News, Northumberland, Poquoson, Richmond County, Westmoreland, Williamsburg, and York. 
Michelle Moore (757) 326-5087 / michelle.moore@anthem.com
Norfolk, and the Eastern Shore (to include: Accomack, Northampton, Somerset and Worcester). 
Sandra Ortiz (757) 326-5282 / sandra.ortiz@anthem.com
Chesapeake, Franklin, Isle of Wight, Portsmouth, Southampton, Suffolk, and Surry; NC: Camden, Currituck, Gates, and Hertford. 
Debbie Tarbay (757) 326-5287 / debra.tarbay@anthem.com
Virginia Beach. 
Back to top  

Northern Region (+ MD, DC, and WVA Contiguous Counties)
Name & Territories
Donna E. Carter (703) 227-5315 / donna.carter2@anthem.com
Alexandria, Clarke, Falls Church, Frederick, Page, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Warren, Winchester and all Valley Health providers (aka Valley Physician Enterprise). DC: All individual doctors, plus George Washington Medical Faculty Associates. WVA: Berkeley, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson and Morgan. 
Gerald Smith (703) 227-5308 / gerald.smith@anthem.com
Arlington, Culpeper, Fairfax County (ONLY Burke and Springfield), Prince William County (ONLY Dale City, Dumfries, Lakeridge and Woodbridge), and all NOVANT and PRIVIA providers. MD: Prince Georges County. 
WAHEEDA TAHEERI (703) 227-5319 / waheeda.taheeri@anthem.com
Fairfax County (ONLY Annandale, Centerville, Chantilly, Great Falls); Fauquier, Prince William County (ONLY Bristow, Gainesville, Haymarket, Manassas, Nokesville); DC: Children’s National Medical Center. 
Joe Welch (703) 227-5317 / joseph.welch@anthem.com
: Fairfax County (ONLY Herndon & Reston); Loudoun.
MedStar (Georgetown University and Washington Hospital Center).
Calvert, Frederick, Montgomery, St.Mary’s, and Washington Counties. 
Laura Williams (703) 227-5318 / laura.williams@anthem.com
Fairfax City, Fairfax County (ONLY Clifton, Lorton , McLean and Vienna) and the INOVA hospital system doctors. 
Back to top  

Western Region (+ KY, TN, WVA & NC Contiguous Counties)
Name & Territories
Melissa Shilling (540) 853-5093 / melissa.shilling@anthem.com
Augusta County and all Augusta Health Care physicians, Bath, Bland, Buchanan, Dickenson, Giles, Highland, Montgomery, Pulaski, Radford, Staunton, Tazewell, and Waynesboro. KY: Pike. WVA: McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Pocahontas, and Summers.  
Tracey Carlisle (540) 853-3072 / tracey.carlisle@anthem.com
Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell, Danville, Halifax, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, Pittsylvania, Rockingham, South Boston; all Centra Health physicians. NC: Caswell and Person. WVA: Pendleton. 
Barry Hodges (540) 853-5149 / barry.hodges@anthem.com
Alleghany, Bedford County & City, Botetourt, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Henry, Lexington, Martinsville, Patrick, Rockbridge, Roanoke County & City, Salem, Carilion (all locations), HCA (all Western locations), and Lewis-Gale Physicians, Inc. (all locations). NC: Rockingham and Stokes. WVA: Greenbrier;  
Shari Wyrick (540) 853-5036 / shari.wyrick@anthem.com
Bristol, Carroll, Galax, Grayson, Lee, Norton, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Washington, Wise, Wythe, and Blue Ridge Medical Management. KY: Bell, Harlan, and Letcher. NC: Alleghany, Ashe, and Surry. TN: Claiborne, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan and Washington. 
**DCs: The above network managers handle Par/PPO chiro matters only. For Anthem products from HealthKeepers, Inc., chiropractors must contact American Specialty Health (ASH) at 1-800-972-4226, Monday-Friday, 10:00am-8:00pm (Eastern Time). Address: ASH, P. O. Box 509001, San Diego, CA 92150-9002, or online at https://www.ashcompanies.com/
EXTERNAL Eff.NOW--Eff.5/16/165-Rev.16May2016kcn 
©2005-2016 copyright of Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc.

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield is the trade name of: In Colorado Rocky Mountain Hospital and Medical Service, Inc. HMO products underwritten by HMO Colorado, Inc. In Connecticut: Anthem Health Plans, Inc. In Indiana: Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc. In Kentucky: Anthem Health Plans of Kentucky, Inc. In Maine: Anthem Health Plans of Maine, Inc. In Missouri (excluding 30 counties in the Kansas City area): RightCHOICE® Managed Care, Inc. (RIT), Healthy Alliance® Life Insurance Company (HALIC), and HMO Missouri, Inc. RIT and certain affiliates administer non-HMO benefits underwritten by HALIC and HMO benefits underwritten by HMO Missouri, Inc. RIT and certain affiliates only provide administrative services for self-funded plans and do not underwrite benefits. In Nevada: Rocky Mountain Hospital and Medical Service, Inc. HMO products underwritten by HMO Colorado, Inc., dba HMO Nevada. In New Hampshire: Anthem Health Plans of New Hampshire, Inc. In Ohio: Community Insurance Com pany. In Virginia: Anthem Health Plans of Virginia, Inc. trades as Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield in Virginia, and its service area is all of Virginia except for the City of Fairfax, the Town of Vienna, and the area east of State Route 123. In Wisconsin: Blue Cross Blue Shield of Wisconsin ("BCBSWi"), which underwrites or administers the PPO and indemnity policies; Compcare Health Services Insurance Corporation ("Compcare"), which underwrites or administers the HMO policies; and Compcare and BCBSWi collectively, which underwrite or administer the POS policies. Independent licensees of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. ® ANTHEM is a registered trademark of Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc. The Blue Cross and Blue Shield names and symbols are registered marks of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association. Use of the Anthem Web sites constitutes your agreement with our Terms of Use